Speakers of the 2023 Edition

Master of Ceremony

Lisa Burke

Lisa Burke is an experienced broadcaster having spent the bulk of her career presenting live television with Sky News, plus BBC, Channel 4, Fox News, many other Sky channels, RTE (Ireland) and RTL (Luxembourg). Her reporting has covered national and international assignments, documentaries and radio.

In Luxembourg, Lisa created RTL Today which has now become the biggest English news platform in the country. Now, she hosts and produces a weekly radio show (also available with video) and podcast: ‘The Lisa Burke Show’.

Lisa is in high demand as a host and moderator, covering TED talks, all Luxembourg Space Agency work, finance, health, entrepreneurship, tech, science, European Institution events and many more. She is a public speaking coach, and launched the first Presenting & Debating Society at the University of Luxembourg. Additionally, Lisa is a sought-after voice-over artist.

Whilst living in Abu Dhabi for two years, Lisa wrote for The National newspaper.

Other writing includes children’s science books. Lisa has been a science consultant and author with Dorling Kindersley since 2005. She studied Natural Sciences at Cambridge University, gaining a double first. Her specialism was chemistry.

Lisa is on the Cambridge University Communications Working Group. She is also a board member for Angel Aid Cares, a Californian-based foundation raising aid for the care-givers of children with rare disease.

Lisa is a trained classical singer and pianist. She has two daughters.


Lisa Burke

Master of Ceremony

Suzanne Dickson

President, European Brain Council

Frédéric Destrebecq

Executive Director, European Brain Council

Stelios Kympouropoulos

Member of the European Parliament (GR, EPP)

Aura Salla

Member of the Parliament of Finland

Magda Chlebus

Science Policy and Regulatory Affairs Executive Director, EFPIA

Kevin Quaid

Member, Irish Dementia Working Group; Vice Chair of the European Working Group of People with Dementia and Co-Founder of Lewy Body Ireland

Fernando Aguzzoli-Peres

Journalist, Writer and Global Atlantic Fellow for Equity in Brain Health at the Global Brain Health Institute

Kevin Quaid

Member, Irish Dementia Working Group; Vice Chair of the European Working Group of People with Dementia and Co-Founder of Lewy Body Ireland

Charlèss Dupont

Registered Nurse, Doctoral Researcher, Vrije Universiteit Brussel

Sameer Zuberi

Consultant Paediatric Neurologist at the Royal Hospital for Children, Glasgow and Board Member of the European Paediatric Neurology Society (EPNS) and the European Brain Council (EBC)

Francesco Muntoni

Professor of Paediatric Neurologist, Director, Dubowitz Neuromuscular Centre, London

Gabriele Lignani

Professor of Translational Neuroscience, Queen Square Institute of Neurology

Christian Suojanen

CEO, Broadreach Global

Elena Ruiz de la Torre

European Migraine and Headache Alliance

Frédéric Destrebecq

European Brain Council

Geert Dom

President, European Psychiatric Association

Rémi Foulon

Cultural Mediator for the Museums, City of Brussels

Péter Kéri

President, GAMIAN Europe

Joanna Drake

Deputy Director-General, European Commission's DG for Research and Innovation (DG RTD)

Pascal Maigné

Project Manager, French Ministry of Higher Education & Research

Ricardo Chavarriaga

Head, Swiss office of the Confederation of Laboratories for AI Research in Europe (CLAIRE)

Usman Khan

Session Moderator | Motor Neurone Disease Association

Dimitri Georgiopoulos

Senior Vice President, Head of the Global Business Franchise, Merck

Elisabeth Kasilingam

Head, European Multiple Sclerosis Platform

Paweł Świeboda

Founder, Neurocentury

Pieter Roelfsema

Director, Netherlands Institute for Neuroscience

Mavi Sanchez-Vives

ICREA Research Professor, Institut d'Investigacions Biomèdiques August Pi i Sunyer (Barcelona)

Serge Picaud

Director, Paris Institut de la Vision

Diana Saraceni

Founder and Managing Partner, Panakès Partners

Frederic Sottilini

Chief Executive Officer, Carthera

Tim Buckinx

Founder & CEO, Epihunter

Maria Fernanda Cabrera

BRAINTEASER Project Coordinator, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid

Carl Mörch

Co-Director, FARI – AI for the Common Good Institute (ULB-VUB)

Barbara Di Camillo

BRAINTEASER Scientific Coordinator, University of Padova

Sten Hanke

LETHE Coordinator, FH Joanneum

Bruno Miranda

eMOTIONAL Cities Co-Coordinator, Universidade de Lisboa

Valentina Tageo

ALAMEDA Dissemination Manager, Wise Angle

Paola Zaratin

PROMS Initiative SSC Co-Chair, Italian MS Society - Italian MS Foundation

Orla Galvin

Executive Director, European Federation of Neurological Associations

Florence Butlen-Ducuing

Scientific Senior Specialist, European Medicine Agency

Vera Nies

RADAR-AD Programme Manager, Lygature

Usman Khan

Session Moderator | Motor Neurone Disease Association

Martien Kas

President, European College of NeuroPsychopharmacology (ECNP)

Elisabetta Vaudano

Principal Scientific Manager, Innovative Health Initiative